The recently enacted PIP reform has taken effect.
The statute states that a motorist has 14 days after an automobile accident to seek medical treatment from a hospital facility, emergency transport, medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, chiropractor or a dentist.
Failure to seek medical treatment after 14 days will result in forfeiture of the motorist’s PIP coverage. Moreover, Florida insurers will no longer be required by law to cover the medical expenses of those who wait to get treated, or whose symptoms do not manifest until more than two weeks after the accident. This provision has essentially given Florida’s auto insurance companies a get-out-of-jail free card for the expenses of Floridians who do not seek medical treatment within the 14-day period.